How to block someone on Instagram: what happens when they block?

Who I am
Shane Conder
@shaneconder
Author and references

Block a user on Instagram it's a very simple task. Being forced to take this action can be caused by various reasons. For example, we could receive spam from an account or its content seems inappropriate.

It is also possible that we receive direct messages with content unpleasant or even threatening. If this is the case for you, in this article we explain how you can block a user on Instagram and what the consequences are.


Steps to block someone on Instagram

To block another person within this popular photo social network, follow the steps below.


  1. First, locate the account you want to block. You can do this from one of his publications or by searching for his profile through the Explore section, represented by a magnifying glass icon.
  2. Once you are in the profile you want to block, click on the three dots that you will find in the upper right corner.
  3. Then, click Block.
  4. Finally, confirm the block by clicking on the button Block which you will see in the pop-up message.

What happens when you block a person on Instagram?

When you block someone on Instagram, several things happen. For example, the blocked person DON'T Sara more able to find you in the search, born di see your posts, including photos, videos, Reels and Stories.

Obviously, it won't even be able to send you direct messages and all communication between you and the blocked profile will be gone. Don't forget that these changes affect you too. That way, you won't even be able to see the photos or the rest of their postings from the blocked account.


How to know who blocked you on Instagram?

find out who blocked you on Instagram, it's as simple as checking some of the points we've already discussed. If you try to search for it in Instagram search and it doesn't show up, chances are it blocked you. Or if you can't see their posts too.


When you block someone on Instagram, are the comments deleted?

When you block a user on Instagram , comments are not removed. For this reason, the blocked person can continue to see your comments prior to the block on their profile and, conversely, you can continue to see theirs.

When you block someone, are the messages deleted?

In the same way, when you block someone, private messages are not deleted. Therefore, if you have had conversations with the blocked user before blocking, you can continue to see the chat with all messages, unless you decide to delete them manually.


What is the difference between blocking and limiting on Instagram?

When you block someone on Instagram, that person cannot post comments on posts. Conversely, when you limit someone, the person can still comment, but you won't see those comments and only they will see them.


Also, it's important to remember that if you have a public profile, anyone can access it via the web. That way, if the blocked person wants to see your photos, they just have to enter your profile URL to access them.

The block on Instagram is completely reversible. To turn it off, simply follow the steps mentioned above and tap Unlock. This way everything will return to normal.


add a comment of How to block someone on Instagram: what happens when they block?
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.